Customize the ribbon in Word

Looking for:

Group ribbon home microsoft office word 2010 free. Show or hide the ribbon in Office

Click here to Download

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I see various instances in group ribbon home microsoft office word 2010 free default Word toolbar where there are dropdown selections available from certain tabs and frfe. For example, on the Home продолжение здесь, the \”Find\” and \”Select\” options in the Editing group or on the View читать, the \”Macros\” button contain dropdowns.

Group ribbon home microsoft office word 2010 free can I create a similar dropdown in a custom tab using the Customize Ribbon lffice in ?

Also, to create a custom symbol to associate with a macro I want to add to my custom ribbon tab, how do I do this? The symbols shown in the Rename window for Customize Ribbon are not what I want to use. I don\’t think you can. Was this reply helpful? Yes No. Sorry this didn\’t help. Choose where you want to microxoft below Search Search offce Community. Thanks, Tamara. This thread is locked.

You can follow the question or vote as helpful, but you cannot reply to this thread. I have the same question Report abuse. Details required :. Cancel Submit. Greg Maxey. Thanks for your feedback. How satisfied are you with this reply? Thanks for your feedback, it helps us на этой странице the site. I determined that customizing the ribbon via the Office interface specifically Word is only useful for \’simple\’ ribbon layouts.

I ended up using the Custom UI editor and mining through various online help info such as your helpful docGreg to create http://replace.me/589.txt dropdowns and other ribbon tweaks I broup. This site in other languages x.

 
 

 

Group ribbon home microsoft office word 2010 free

 

The next tab is the Mailings Tab. This is a less often used tab as it pertains specifically to printing envelopes, labels and performing mail merges. You will use this tab if you, for example, wish to send personalized copies of your document to hundreds of readers or to print mailing labels or envelopes:. Before you press send though, move on to the second last tab, the Review Tab, and be sure to do a review of your document using tools such as the spell checker.

You may also want to add comments, add restrictions to the document so that no one can make changes or enable track changes, so that all changes made will be discernable:. Lastly, but not to be forgotten, is the View Tab. Use the View Tab to change how your document is displayed on the screen and to get a better idea of what it will look like printed in the Print Layout View or view which styles are used in the document by changing to the Outline or Draft View. You can also use the Zoom view to get a close up view of elements in your document:.

There are also tabs called contextual tabs. These appear only in the context of specific types of content and the content has to be selected or your cursor positioned within the content, for these tabs to appear. There are contextual tabs for just about every element you can insert into a Word document, for example tables, images, headers and footers, shapes and many more. You can identify the contextual tabs in that they will appear or disappear as soon as you move away from the element and they are also usually brightly colored.

Below is an example of the contextual tabs for a table. See if you are able to discern these tabs from other tabs on the Ribbon:. Some items in a group represent a single function, for example, the bold button in the Font Group under the Home Tab. Some items in a group provide you with more options to choose from, for example the Shapes button in the Illustrations Group under the Insert Tab. Groups are discernable from each other by a vertical borderline and the name of the Group, which appears centered at the bottom of the group of function icons associated with the group.

Open Word and identify group names and separators as circled in yellow in the example below:. Looking at the group names and the names of the functions contained in each group under each tab, are you able to make an association between these?

For example, in the screenshot above, in the Illustrations Group, functions such as Picture, Clip Art, Shapes, SmartArt, etc are grouped together as these all related to graphical elements you can insert into a document.

To get a better idea of what the function of an individual button is in a group on the Ribbon, hover your mouse over the button for a couple of seconds until an information box or screen tip appears. This will give you a brief explanation of what the function of a specific button is as per the example circled in yellow in the image below:.

If you are unable to find what you are looking for amongst the icons contained in a group, some groups offer further options in the form of a dialogue box. To access such a dialogue box, study the right-hand bottom corner of the relevant group.

If there is a tiny diagonal arrow, you can click this to launch a dialogue box. It is aptly, although somewhat uncreatively called, a dialogue box launcher. Study the example below and then review the Ribbon in an open Word screen noting which groups have dialogue box launchers:. You can\’t change the color of the ribbon, or its icons, but you can change the color scheme that Office uses throughout. For more information see Change the Office theme.

When you customize your ribbon : Your customizations only apply to the Office program you\’re working in at the time. For example, if you personalize your ribbon in Word, those same changes won\’t be visible in Excel. If you want similar customizations in your other Office apps, you\’ll have to open each of those apps to make the same changes. To display the ribbon Choose a tab. When the ribbon expands, choose the to pin the ribbon to the top so it stays there. To open Customize the Ribbon and keyboard shortcuts window.

Notes: To save time, you can do multiple additions and changes while the window is open, and only save when you\’re done. To save your changes and see the results, select OK in the customize window. You can rename a default or custom tab or group.

You can only rename commands that you\’ve added to a custom group. Choose a tab, group, or command custom groups only to rename in the Customize the Ribbon window. In the Customize the Ribbon window, select the tab or group that you want to move.

Select the Move Up or Move Down arrow until you have the order you want. You can hide both custom and default tabs. You cannot hide the File tab. In the Customize the Ribbon window, clear the check box next to the default tab or custom tab that you want to hide. You can add custom tabs or groups to put additional commands on the ribbon, or replace default tabs with your own versions.

Custom tabs and groups have Custom after the name in the Customize the Ribbon window, but the word Custom does not appear in the ribbon. Right-click the new group, choose Rename , and type a new name or add an icon. However, you can hide a default group and make a custom group with the commands that you want to replace the default group. In the Customize the Ribbon window, choose the default tab where you want to add the custom group.

Type a name for the new group and select an icon to represent the new group when the ribbon is resized. Choose the command that you want to add to the custom group, and then select Add.

To add commands to a group, you must first add a custom group to a default tab or to a new custom tab. Only commands added to custom groups can be renamed. Default commands appear in gray text. You can\’t rename them, change their icons, or change their order. In the Choose commands from list, choose the list you want to add commands from, for example, Popular Commands or All Commands.

Note: You can also drag and drop a command into to a custom group. In the Customize the Ribbon window, choose the command that you want to move. In the Customize the Ribbon window, choose the command that you want to remove.

In the Customize the Ribbon window, click the command that you want to rename. To hide the labels for the commands added to a custom group, right-click the group, and then select Hide Command Labels.

Repeat to un-hide them. You can reset all tabs to their original state, or you can reset select tabs to their original state. When you reset all tabs on the ribbon, you also reset the Quick Access Toolbar to show only the default commands. In the Customize the Ribbon window, choose the default tab that you want to reset to the default settings. Select Reset , and then choose Reset only selected Ribbon tab. You can save your ribbon and Quick Access Toolbar customizations into a file that can be imported and used by a coworker or on another computer.

Important: When you import a ribbon customization file, you lose all prior ribbon and Quick Access Toolbar customizations. To later revert to the customization you currently have, you should export them before importing any new customizations. Select Rename , and type a new name. Optionally, you can also add an icon from the icon gallery. In the Customize the Ribbon window, select New Tab.

Right-click the new tab, choose Rename , and type a new name or add an icon.

 
 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *